KPL 2016: Team Namma Shivamogga

Team Namma Shivamogga


Namma Shivamogga

Namma Shivamogga, who made their debut in the Karnataka Premier League (KPL) last year, will be aiming to put up a better show this season after finishing a lowly sixth in the 2015 edition of the tournament. Shreyas Gopal will captain the side.

This year, Namma Shivamogga have a formidable team on paper, with a number of exciting players in the ranks. Stuart Binny, who recently played for the national team during India’s tour of West Indies, is a key component of the set-up. The utility cricketer is known for crunching a volley of powerful blows and is a handy swing bowler, too.

The team coached by GK Anil Kumar, Karnataka’s former middle-order-batsman, has a good mix of experience and youth. The franchise also has a slew of all-rounders and that should help the side to make an impact.

Noteworthy first-class cricketers like Gopal, Abrar Kazi, David Mathias and KP Appanna form the core of the line-up. At the other end of the spectrum, youngsters like Sadiq Kirmani, Pavan Deshpande and Zeeshan Ali will be trying to make their presence felt.

In fact, Kirmani has already shone brightly in the KPL as he amassed an enterprising innings of 87 against Rockstars in Hubballi last season. He will look to carry forward those good memories into this year’s competition.

In the bowling department, Shivamogga will hope for Binny and Mathias to make early inroads with the new ball. On the other hand, Kazi, Gopal, Appanna, Kazi and Deshpande are expected to bowl with diligence and control in the middle overs. The fact that most of the bowlers can make vital contributions with the willow in hand, will only bolster the side.

Namma Shivamogga will start their campaign with a game against Hubli Tigers in the opening encounter of the tournament in Hubli.


Namma Shivamogga squad: Sadiq Kirmani, Shreyas Gopal (c), Abrar Kazi, Pavan Deshpande, David Mathias, Siddharth K V, Stuart Binny, KP Appanna, Zeeshan Ali Sayeed, Nischal D, Nikin Jose, Sharath Srinivas, Pradeep Gangadha, Hoysala K, Sharan Gouda, Rohan Raju, Vineet Manjunath, Yuvraj R, Bharath Prashanth and Rishabh G M


Tags :- Karnataka Premier League 2016, Karnataka Premier League 2016 Cricket Highlights, Karnataka Premier League 2016 Fixtures, Karnataka Premier League 2016 News, Karnataka Premier League 2016 Schedule, Karnataka Premier League 2016 Teams.

Related posts