Fingers crossed on pink ball as Duleep Trophy begins


Duleep Trophy begins Today

Does the pink-ball have better visibility -or worse -than the red cherry? At least some members of India’s Red and Green teams -who will lock horns in the opening match of the Duleep Trophy here on Tuesday -appeared inclined to go for `pink’, knowing full well that visibility issues will dominate proceedings in the tournament. At least in the nets at daytime, the pink ball seems to have temporarily passed the visibility test. But how the newly-introduced ball will hold up under floodlights is a different issue altogether as the event gets under way here at the Shahid Vijay Singh Pathik Sports Complex. Apart from the colour, there is also the problem of coping with the swing the pink ball might generate under lights.

There was, however, more excitement than anxiety in both camps on match eve. Right from early afternoon, all eyes were on the ball when India Red walked in to practice. However, the practice pitch was damp and most of the deliveries kept low. Pacers like Ishwar Pandey , Gurkeerat Singh Mann and Ashok Dinda bowled their hearts out but the pink-ball didn’t do much. The much-talked about swing was, however, present.

Prior to this first for mal nets session with the pink ball in Greater Noida, some of the stars like Yuvraj Singh had a private three-day session with the ball. Yuvraj, however, is yet to make up his mind on the matter.Indian Green captain Suresh Raina -facing issues of form -too is non-committal on the issue. Coaches Narender Hirwani (Red) and WV Raman (Green) said “it was too early to say anything“ about the pink ball.

Teams (from):

India Red:

Yuvraj Singh (capt), Abhinav Mukund, Sudeep Chatter ee, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Arun Karthik, Ankush Bains (wk), Akshay Wakhare, Kuldeep Yadav, Nathu Singh, Ishwar Pandey, Nitish Rana, Murugan Ashwin, Abhimanyu Mithun.

India Green:

Suresh Raina (capt), Robin Uthappa, Jalaj Saxena, Ambati Rayudu, Ian Dev Singh, Rohan Prem, Parthiv Patel, Shreyas Gopal, Ashok Dinda, Sandeep Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot, Rajat Paliwal, Jasprit Bumrah, Murali Vijay.

Related posts