England announces squad for Bangladesh Tour

Gareth Batty returns to England Test squad after 11 years for Bangladesh tour; Joe Root rested for ODI series

England have also named three uncapped players in their Test squad for the tour of Bangladesh.


Gareth Batty, who last played a Test for England 11 years ago, earns a recall to the Test side for the tour of Bangladesh. Uncapped players, Haseeb Hameed of Lancashire, Ben Duckett  of Northamptonshire and Zafar Ansari of Surrey too have been named in England’s 17-man Test squad. Batty has picked up 41 wickets in the Division One County Championship for Surrey and he will among the four spinners named in the squad, with the others being Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid and Ansari. Ansari has however played an One-Day International (ODI) for England. Teenager Hameed could be skipper Alastair Cook’s opening partner in Tests, after Alex Hales backed out of the Bangladesh tour.

If Hameed plays the first Test at Chittagong, he will be only the second teenager to play a Test for England since 1949. Brian Close and Ben Hollioke are the onlt two teenagers to have played for England. “His four centuries, against some of the best bowling attacks in the country are testament to his outstanding temperament and attitude,” said national selector James Whitaker said, according to bbc.com. Hameed has scored 1.129 runs at 52 for Lancashire this season.

Jos Buttler will lead England’s One-Day International (ODI) side. Both Buttler and Mark Wood have been named in the Test squad. The duo have not played Test cricket since England’s tour of UAE last year. Joe Root has been rested from the ODI team, while James Vince finds himself omitted from the Test side after a string of poor performances at home.

England squad for two-match Test series against Bangladesh: Alastair Cook (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Zafar Ansari , Jonny Bairstow (wk), Gary Ballance, Gareth Batty, Stuart Broad, Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Duckett, Steven Finn, Haseeb Hameed, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

England squad for three-match ODI series against Bangladesh: Jos Buttler (c & wk), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, Ben Duckett, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood


Tags :- Bangladesh vs England 2016 | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Highlights | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Cricket Highlights | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Highlights Cricket Highlights | Bangladesh vs England Fixtures | Bangladesh vs England 2016 News | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Schedule | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Teams | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Live Streaming | Bangladesh vs England 2016 Highlights & Live Streaming.

Tagged with :- Online Highlights | Highlights Free | My Cricket Highlights | Cricket | Icc Cricket| Test Cricket | Cup Cricket | Day Cricket | Free Cricket | Cricket Info | England Cricket | Cricket Tickets | Australia Live | Odi Cricket | Australia Cricket | ipl live cricket streaming | cricket world cup live streaming | latest england cricket score | team india | cricket latest highlights

Related posts