The Ireland cricket team represents all of Ireland. They participate in Test, ODI and Twenty20 matches on an international level. They are the 12th Full Member of the International Cricket Council (ICC), having been awarded Test status along with Afghanistan, on 22 June 2017.


In 1993 the Irish Cricket Union, the predecessor to Cricket Ireland, was elected to the ICC as an Associate member. Associates are the next level of team below those that play Test cricket. Due to their successes in the Intercontinental Cup and at the World Cup, they were labelled the “leading Associate”and stated their intention to become a full member by 2020. This intention was realised in June 2017, when the ICC unanimously decided to award Ireland and Afghanistan full Test status, which will allow them to participate in test matches.


They qualified for the Cricket World Cup for the first time in 2007, and has since played in the 2011 and 2015 tournaments. They also qualified for the 2009, 2010, 2012, and 2014 World Twenty20 competitions. They also play international cricket in the ICC Intercontinental Cup, which they have won four times since 2005, including the most recent competition in 2013.